James R. Prudent

Dr. Prudent is the President and CEO of Centrose bringing over 25 years of biotechnology industry experience. Before Centrose, Dr. Prudent served as Chief Scientific Officer and Member of the Board of Directors at EraGen Biosciences and was an essential part of raising over $26 million in equity and grant funds for EraGen. He was responsible for technology and product development in the areas of cancer, infectious disease, cardiology, cystic fibrosis and general life science. Before EraGen, he worked at Third Wave Technologies (now Hologic Inc.) where he co-invented the Invader® Technology. Dr. Prudent was an integral part of transforming Invader into a multi-million dollar product line. Prior to Third Wave, Dr. Prudent worked for IGEN International (acquired by Roche in 2003) where he pioneered new methods of rapidly producing monoclonal antibodies.

He was recipient of the Frost and Sullivan 2005 Product of the Year Award and received the "Biotechnology Industry Organization's 2006 Innovation Award". Dr. Prudent received his Ph.D. in Chemistry at the UC - Berkeley  and his B.S. in Bacteriology and Medical Microbiology at the University of Wisconsin - Madison.

Publications →

Jon S. Thorson, Ph.D

Dr. Thorson is currently the Director of the Center for Pharmaceutical Research and Innovation at the University of Kentucky and professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences. He has been credited with establishing the general area of natural product glycorandomization. Dr. Thorson is an internationally known expert in glycosylated therapeutics and was instrumental in establishing the University of Wisconsin's National Cooperative Drug Development Group for new cancer drug development. Dr. Thorson’s achievements have been recognized by numerous prestigious awards. His area of expertise is the understanding and exploitation of chemoselective sugar addition chemistries and the biotechnology associated with small molecule glycosylation. Prior to his current position at UK, Dr. Thorson was at the University of Wisconsin and Sloan-Kettering with a joint appointment at Cornell University. Dr. Thorson obtained his Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota and was a postdoctoral research fellow at the University of California - Berkeley.

Publications →

Hayden Leason

Hayden Leason has a wide business background. He has participated in the founding and development of numerous diverse businesses including Stock and Option Trading, biotechnology, and even boat building.  Mr. Leason's principal achievement was the founding and development of Filtertek, Inc. a NYSE listed firm which he founded in 1965, and sold in 1992.  Since that time Mr. Leason has participated in several startup ventures.

Ray Schinazi, Ph.D, DSc

Dr. Raymond F. Schinazi is currently the Francis Winship Walters Professor of Pediatrics and Chemistry and Director of the Laboratory of Biochemical Pharmacology at Emory University. He is best known for his innovative and pioneering work on d4T (stavudine), 3TC (lamivudine), FTC (emtriva), LdT (telbivudine), D-D4FC (reverset), RCV (racivir), and DAPD (amdoxovir), drugs that are now approved by the FDA, or are at various stages of clinical development. His inventions now sell more than US$2.0 billion per year and more than 94% of the HIV infected individuals take at least one of the drugs he invented. Dr. Schinazi is the founder of several biotechnology companies including Pharmasset Inc. (VRUS), Triangle Pharmaceuticals (acquired by Gilead), Idenix Pharmaceuticals (IDIX), and RFS Pharma LLC. He has published over 420 peer-reviewed papers and 7 books, and holds more than 80 US patents. Dr. Schinazi is on the editorial board of several journals, including Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, Antiviral Research, AIDS Reviews, Antiviral Chemistry and Chemotherapy, Global Antiviral Journal and Antiviral Therapy. Dr. Schinazi is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Georgia Biomedical Industry Growth Award, the Bruce Witte Award, the 2006 Distinguished Scientist Award from the Hepatitis B Foundation, and two Merit Awards (10 year grants) from NIH-NIAID. He also served on the Presidential Commission on AIDS.

Publications →